The workshop will focus on concrete actions that developers, investors, building owners, and policy makers can take to design, build, and operate carbon neutral buildings.
18 January 2021
  • Sustainable Buildings and Construction

DATE: 21 January (3 sessions, English and Spanish)

TIMES: 

  • Session 1 - 12:30 Delhi | 15:00 Hong Kong | 18:00 Sydney
  • Session 2 - 8:00 Washington DC | 14:00 Paris | 16:00 Nairobi
  • Session 3 (in Spanish) – 14:00 Mexico City | 15:00 Bogota 

The International Finance Corporation (IFC) invites you to a free workshop on Thursday, January 21 to learn practical steps for designing and financing zero carbon buildings using EDGE: a fast, easy, and more affordable way to build and brand green. 

Launched under the UN Secretary General’s Zero Carbon for All Initiative, EDGE Zero Carbon certification is a robust global standard for zero carbon, a step-by-step technical process, and an opportunity to utilize international green finance and technical assistance options to achieve zero carbon goals.

The workshop will focus on concrete actions that developers, investors, building owners, and policy makers can take to design, build, and operate carbon neutral buildings. Climate science informs us that all new buildings need to be zero carbon by 2030, while existing buildings will need to be retrofitted to be zero carbon by 2050. 

During the webinar, IFC, a member of the World Bank Group, will present the EDGE App, a cloud-based platform that identifies options for on-site resource efficiency. The free platform calculates the cost of going green, utility savings, and environmental impacts. ClimateSeed will share options to go beyond on-site efficiency if renewable energy credits and/or carbon offsets are needed to achieve net zero GHG emissions.

Examples will also be provided of investors and developers with successful zero carbon initiatives. ArthaLand’s Century Pacific Tower in the Philippines was the first EDGE Zero Carbon certified project and was financed through the company’s green bond.  ArthaLand received Special Recognition for Advancing Net Zero from the World Green Building Council and was a finalist for the Financial Times Transformational Business Awards. ProCredit Bank has also launched an ambitious green finance program, with incentivized loans and technical assistance. The Bank is also certifying its own offices as zero carbon, including the first certified property in Bulgaria.

The workshop is co-promoted by a number of organizations, including:

Register for Session 1 - 12:30 Delhi | 15:00 Hong Kong | 18:00 Sydney
Register for Session 2 - 8:00 Washington DC | 14:00 Paris | 16:00 Nairobi
Register for Session 3 (in Spanish) – 14:00 Mexico City | 15:00 Bogota 

  • Sustainable Buildings and Construction
Webinar
Finance, Housing, Innovation, Policy