Skip to main content

How to embed sustainable food practices throughout hotel operations

Join us this International Day of Awareness of Food Loss and Waste Reduction, as we explore sustainability throughout the life cycle of food – from procurement and consumption, through to waste management.

The session will be co-hosted by the Sustainable Hospitality Alliance and the World Wildlife Fund, with additional speakers from the Marine Stewardship Council and the World Resources Institute.

This is a practical session for hotel sustainability representatives, hospitality practitioners, and hotel general managers, showcasing useful tools and initiatives which hotels can implement to address food sustainability throughout their operations.

This webinar seeks to explore the topic of sustainable food in the hospitality industry, addressing it from three key angles across the life cycle of food.

  • Beginning with food procurement, hear from Nicole Condon from the Marine Stewardship council about the importance of buying sustainable sourced seafood, and what it means practically to buy MSC certified.  
  • Next, Edwina Hughes from the World Resources Institute will focus on food consumption, and the importance of changing our diets to eat more "cool" food through the Cool Food Initiative.
  • Moving to consider food waste, hear from Samantha Kenny at WWF as she explores the sector's climate impact of food waste, and a new food waste calculation tool for hotels.
  • Finally, the session will end with a Q&A where audience members will be able to pose questions to the speakers.

The session will take place on Sep 29, 10:00 AM ET / 3:00 PM BST. Register for the session here.

There will also be a live re-watch at 1:00 PM ET / 6:00 PM BST, with a separate registration link. Register for the live re-watch here.

Published on September 16, 2022
Event start date
02:00 pm
29/09/2022
Event end date
03:00 pm
29/09/2022
Register to event

You might also be Interested in