Skip to main content

Call for nominations: International Innovation Award for Sustainable Food and Agriculture

  • Published on December 1, 2018
The deadline for nominations - 28 February 2019.

FAO and the Government of Switzerland are calling on individuals, private companies or institutions to submit a nomination for the following categories before the 28th of February 2019:

The innovation must impact more than one level of supply chain from farmers to consumers.

The innovation must strengthen the link between farmers and consumers, e.g. through tracking sustainability features of traded food and agriculture products.

 The innovation must strengthen the role of youth (under 35) in agriculture and food systems.

Let them now how your innovation is contributing to the global effort to reach Zero Hunger!

International Innovation Award for Sustainable Food and Agriculture

Agricultural innovation is the process whereby individuals or organizations bring new or existing products, processes or ways of organization into use for the first time in a specific context in order to increase effectiveness, competitiveness, resilience to shocks or environmental sustainability and thereby contribute to food security and nutrition, economic development or sustainable natural resource management. 

As the award is funded by the Government of Switzerland, the award shall be limited to innovations related to agriculture and pastoral systems only, as per the requirements and technical competencies of the Swiss Federal Office of Agriculture. 


The Award General criteria are as follows:

  • Quality and merit of the innovation
  • Potential benefit, impact and sustainability          
  • Scalability           
  • Value for money 

Find out more:

Downolad the form, terms and conditions here.

Federico Respini - Unsplash

You might also be Interested in